top of page
Search
Writer's pictureREISE

ADVENTURE:MY LIFESTYLE AND RECIPE FOR HAPPINESS

Updated: Nov 24, 2019

I was studying in high school when I watched a movie that had just been released. The movie revolved around the lives of three friends and how their lives changed by going on a single trip to Spain. The adventures they experienced, new friendships were formed and most importantly how happy and light weighted they felt. It was in that one moment that I had realized my true happiness and freedom was in traveling, discovering new places and experiencing the adventures that the life has to offer.


Walking out of that movie theater was a new, transformed and a passionate version of me. I had figured that the monotonous 9 to 5 jobs were not for me and I had to start preparing myself for the life I had chosen. That night I lay awake on my bed thinking about all the possibilities of it being a wrong decision or if I was being to childish and making a rash decision without giving a second thought, so for the next few days, I did not think about adventures and travel but continued to live like a normal teenager. One week later, our school was organizing a trip to the Scandinavian countries where would be camping under the northern lights for a night. The thought of traveling to such beautiful countries with my classmates excited me to the core. It had ignited a fire of passion and strength that I never thought I possessed.


However thinking about going on a trip and actually going on a trip are two different cases. That day after returning from my school, I had narrated the entire story to my parents. They were shocked to say the least. They believed that I was being childish and it was just the spur of the moment which had led me to believe that I wanted a career in travel and adventure. They thought it was just an infatuation and did not agree with my choices. I was hurt that my parents did not support my decisions and moreover to curb the infatuation, they did not permit me to go on school trip as well. I was angry and like any other teenager hated the control they had over me but I was resilient on traveling and discovering places. So I planned on finishing off my high school and then join a travel company to fulfill my dreams.


Two years later, I had graduated from high school and my parents believed that I was going to study business at college. However I had other plans; I had started working part time while studying in high school and applied for a tourism and travel degree at university. When my parents found out about my application, they questioned me and threatened me that they would not pay for my tuition if I did not listen to them.


It’s been six years since that day and I have never looked back. I paid for my tuition by working part time with the same travel company. A year later I got my chance to travel with a group of tourists and let me tell you, I haven’t felt so complete and happy in years as I felt that day when I had finally arrived to Norway. I experienced the northern lights, camped a night under the beautiful star light and drank hot chocolate with marshmallows. In that moment I was truly free and there was no doubt that I was right about my passion. Now I work for another travel company but as an experience reviewer. There are times when I go on without the support from company and those times are as good as any other. Traveling, experiencing new places and people, adventures; that is my secret to a long, healthy and happy life.

- ACCOUNT OF GRETA NICHOLAS


BOOK YOURSELF AN ADVENTUROUS TRIP JUST LIKE GRETA AND EXPLORE THE WORLD BY CLICKING HERE.

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page